Our Handy Guide for Utah Vehicle Equipment Laws
Utah is chalked full of exciting and beautiful places for off-roading, it’s a prime off-roading destination for lifted truck enthusiasts. Luckily, Utah isn't terribly strict when it comes to their vehicle equipment las. Suspension lift limits are governed by strict frame height regulations, but you can install aftermarket wheels and tires, grille guards, performance shocks, and aftermarket bumpers onto your lifted truck with little restrictions.
Utah Truck Laws
The Utah code outlays vehicle equipment laws in Utah and they are not as detailed as Washington State or California’s vehicle equipment laws. For residents of Washington, in general, if your truck is street legal in Washington, then it should be in Utah.
Bumpers must be at least 4 ½ inches tall and are required in the state of Utah.
Max Overall Vehicle Dimensions
Wide: 102 inches
Tall: 14 feet
Length: 45 feet
Wheel & Tire Restrictions
Tires must be safe and cannot have bulges or exposed cords per Utah Code. You must maintain a minimum of a 1/16 inch tire tread depth in Utah and wheel spacers are not allowed in Utah. You also must make sure your fenders and mud flaps cover the full width of your tires if you have extended your vehicle’s track width.
In Utah your brakes must be capable of stopping from 20 miles per hour within 40 feet, which is more lenient than most other states.
Lift blocks cannot be installed on the front suspension in Utah and ones installed on the rear suspension must be one piece.
In Utah, frame height is limited based on the vehicle’s weight.
Weight / Maximum Frame Heights
Under 4,500 pounds / 24 inches
4,500-7,499 pounds / 26 inches
7,500+ pounds / 28 inches
Utah laws do not specify whether auxiliary lights are allowed, but you are required to have a minimum of 2 headlights and 2 taillights. Vehicles are also restricted to a maximum of 2 spot lights.
Vehicles with windshields are required to have wipers, but Utah Code does not specify if windshields are required.
As with all the states we’ve already covered, mufflers are required. Utah also prohibits exhaust cutouts. The only locations which require emissions testing are Davis County, Salt Lake County, and Weber County.
South Sound Trucks Knows Washington Equipment Laws
If you enjoy off-roading with your lifted truck, Utah certainly is worth visiting. The greatly varied landscapes give you the opportunities to off-road on many different terrain types on the same trip. Make sure to visit South Sound Trucks when you’re ready to spec your used lifted truck out for a trip to Utah.
So what are you waiting for? Check out the online inventory of used trucks in Olympia, then visit South Sound Trucks to test drive the truck of your dreams and find a new weekend warrior to hit the trails with.